Yuichi Ikuhura

Distiguished Lecture

Professor Yuichi Ikuhara is Professor and Director of Nanotechnology Center, Institute of Engineering Innovation at University of Tokyo since 2003. He received Dr.Eng. from Department of Materials Sciences, Kyushu University. He then joined Japan Fine Ceramics Center (JFCC) in 1988, and was the Microstructure Characterization Division Manager at JFCC from 1993. In 1996, he joined University of Tokyo as an associate professor of Materials Sciences. He was a visiting assistant professor at Case Western Reserve University from 1991 to 1993. His current research interest is in grain boundary and interface phenomena, advanced transmission electron microscopy (STEM, HREM, EDS, EELS), high-temperature ceramics, dislocation technology, phase transformation, theoretical calculations and so on. Dr. Ikuhara is author and coauthor of about 750 scientific original papers in this field, and has more than 360 invited talks at international and domestic conferences. He received “Medal with Purple Ribbon” from the Emperor of Japan (2016), “Humboldt Research Award” from Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (2010), “Honda Frontier Prize” from Honda Foundation (2010), “Sosman Lecture Award” (2015) and “Ross Coffin Purdy Award” (2008) from the American Ceramics Society and so on. He is a fellow of the American Ceramics Society (2011), member of World Ceramic Academy (2014), and an associate member of the Science Council of Japan. He holds a group leader position at JFCC and WPI (World Premier International Research Center Initiative) professor at Tohoku University concurrently.

Data Analytics for Electron Microscopy

Chairs: Andrew Stevens, Remki Kannan

  • Nigel Browning, University of Liverpool
  • Michael Gehm, Duke University
  • Josh Agar, Lehigh University
  • Nouanmane Laanait, ORNL

Development New Techniques, Cryo & Low Voltage

Chairs: Alexander Ziegler, Juan C. Idrobo

  • Tracy Lovejoy, Nion Co.
  • Johan Verbeeck, University of Antwerp
  • Yimei Zhu, Brookhaven Nat. Lab.
  • Michael Kinyanjui, Ulm University, Germany
  • Amanda Petford-Long, Argonne
  • Maarten Bischoff, Thermo Fisher
  • Andrew Lupini, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Electron Microscopy Theory and Simulations

Chairs: Jan Rusz, Javier Garcia de Abajo

  • Sokrates Pantelides, Vanderbilt University
  • Kurt Busch, Humboldt University
  • Javier Aizpurua, Center for Materials Physics in San Sebastian
  • Jani Kotakoski, University of Vienna
  • Jon Camden, Notre Dame University

Frontiers in Electron Spectroscopy

Chairs: Jaume Gazquez, Robert Klie

  • Jordan Hatchel, ORNL
  • Quentin Ramasse, SuperSTEM
  • Luiz Henrique Galvão Tizei, Université Paris Sud
  • Shunsuke Muto, Nagoya University
  • Xiaoyan Zhong, Tsinghua University

In-Situ and Ultrafast Microscopy

Chairs: Katherine Jungjohann, Renske van der Veen

  • Judy Cha, Yale University
  • Sid Karkare, Arizona State University
  • Khalid Hattar, Sandia National Laboratories
  • Dave Flannigan, University of Minnesota
  • Mitra Taheri, Drexel University

Microscopy for Quantum & Energy Materials

Chairs: Ryo Ishikawa, Stephen J. Pennycook

  • Naoya Shibata, University of Tokyo
  • Rafal Dunin-Borkowski, Julich
  • Xiaoqing Pan, UC Irvine
  • Xiaoxu Zhao, National University of Singapore
  • Timothy Pennycook, Max Planck Institute, Stuttgart

Multi-Dimensional Imaging

Chairs: Peter Nellist, Miaofang Chi

  • Robert Hovden, University of Michigan
  • Duncan Johnstone, Cambridge University
  • Ivan Lazic, Thermo Fisher
  • Mary Scott, UC Berkeley/ LBNL
  • David Cooper, University of Grenoble